Compartmentalization As an Art Form

Connie Ragen Green
11 min readMar 22, 2024
Connie Ragen Green — Compartmentalization As an Art Form

The Power of Resilience by Separating Out the Parts of Your Life

Compartmentalizing is the act of dividing something into sections or categories. While I worked as a classroom teacher over a twenty year period, while also running a real estate business on a part-time basis from home, I was forced to start using compartmentalization as an art form for each of these work scenarios on a daily basis.

I also had a personal life, and it was always a challenge to keep from thinking about or discussing real estate or teaching while I was engaged with friends and family members.

But that was over a decade ago, and these days I’m a writer and entrepreneur working exclusively online.

I was preparing for the first live session for my “Really Simple Short Reports” course and had everything I needed set up on the two computers I use to teach. Fifteen minutes before we were to begin, I heard the unmistakable sound of a car accident in the distance.

I’m a half mile or so from this highway, so hearing anything means it’s a major incident. I grabbed my phone and went out on my balcony to look through my telescope. The 911 operator answered before I could focus the lens to see more clearly.

She asked me to remain on the phone with her until she could pinpoint the location…

--

--

Connie Ragen Green

Online marketing strategist, author, speaker, and publisher working with entrepreneurs on six continents. https://Linktr.ee/ConnieRagenGreen